At 05:45 AM 3/12/98 -0800, Martin Tibor wrote:
>21st has been active in letting resellers know if they believe that they
>are SPAMING the list. It was understood that the basis of this list was to
>be collaborative. There was considerable concern that the outcome of the
>list being taken over by a vendor was going to a change the way the list
>would be handled. I for one object that my comments are being used to sell
>products for 21st. 21st is hosting this list but is not their list IMHO.
>Using the comments of this list to market their products with these graphic
>links I believe is inappropriate. As a reseller myself I resent their use
>of my comments to market their business. Every posting carries their URL
>and they are deriving considerable benefit from this alone. 21st has been
>extremely aggressive in marketing on the web and I have no problem with
>their marketing efforts. I do have problem with using this list as if it
>was their property because they are hosting it. As I said before I am sure
>we all appreciate the efforts of 21st in hosting this list. They do bring
>you through their site to sign up and all messages contain their URL. I
>don't believe hosting implies ownership nor was that my understanding that
>it was their original contention when they offered to host the list. I
>don't think anyone wants to see graphic advertisements on postings from
>dealers either. I will step off my soapbox now and listen to your responses.
>
>At 08:06 AM 3/12/98 -0500, Alan Arfken wrote:
>>Hey, wait a minute here. I just ran an AltaVista search on one of the
>>folks complaining here and came up with two archive sites, one of which
>>didn't work anymore:
>>http://www-uk.hpl.hp.com/people/ange/archives/voice-users-archive/1831.html
>>http://hplbwww.hpl.hp.com/people/ange/archives/archives-97/voice-users-arch
>ive/2421.html
>>
>>The third archive site, cited below, is OWNED and PAID FOR by the owner
>>of the domain name, voicerecognition.com -- 21st Century. You are
>>reading your message, posted through the mailing list they pay for, on
>>their website, with a pair of logos at the bottome with links to the
>>homepage of that very website. Please correct me if I'm wrong. Now
>>exactly what is so unusual, surprising, misleading or unfair about
>>THAT?
>>
>>Whether it's great to have your e-mail address available for harvesting
>>by spam mailers is a another question entirely, but Enrique has already
>>promised to look into hiding the real addresses. I may be relatively
>>new to this list, but let's appreciate the service 21st Century is
>>providing by maintaining this list and the archives. Would you prefer
>>to pay a subscription fee for using the list? Who's supposed to pay for
>>the hassle? I maintain a small list myself. It's a pain. BTW, he
>>hasn't complained about HIS competitors advertising themselves on HIS
>>LIST with their signature line advertisements. Give the guy a break!
>>IMHO FWIW AA
>>
>>http://voicerecognition.com/voice-users/archive/1998/0373.html
>>
>>
>>--
>>H. Alan Arfken, Jr. MESSAGE INTENDED FOR
>>mailto:aarfken@@pobox.com ADDRESSEE(S) ONLY
>>Post Office Box 6337
>>Chattanooga, TN 37401-6337
>>423.267.2100Martin Tibor wrote:
>>>
>>> This is how you are found on the internet. Complete with logo/graphic
link
>>> to 21st.
>>>
>>> http://voicerecognition.com/voice-users/archive/1998/0373.html
>>>
>>> How does it feel to be a west coast sales agent for 21st Century without
>>> your knowledge????
>>>
>>> At 09:36 PM 3/11/98 -0800, George Szymkiewicz wrote:
>>> >
>>> >
>>> >Holland St.John wrote:
>>> >
>>> >> Hmmm....
>>> >>
>>> >> I didn't know this, did the AltaVista search, (searched on "Web" for my
>>> >> name) and found what you say.... Well close.. I wouldn't call the 21st
>>> >> Century ad at the bottom a "large graphic", but it is certainly an
>>> >> advertisement attached to all my e-mails to voice-users. I'm not sure
>>> >> yet how much I dislike this, but I sure don't appreciate it...
>>> >> Especially as I had no idea this was happening.
>>> >>
>>> >> I haven't written much publicly lately but in a search of Altavista I
>>> didn't
>>> >> see the ads Marty refers to. Are they really blatant? If so, I would
>>> rapidly
>>> >> develop an opinion since I'm also a reseller.
>>> >
>>> >Cheers,George
>>> >
>>> >> Martin Tibor wrote:
>>> >> I was stunned to
>>> >> > find my comments as well as everyone else all over the Internet with
>>> large
>>> >> > linked graphic tagged advertisements to visit the 21st Century
>website.
>>> >
>>> >******************************************************
>>> >SAFE COMPUTING Voice:408-269-5430
>>> >2059 Camden Avenue, Fax: 408-269-4812
>>> >Suite 285 george@@safecomputing.com
>>> >San Jose, CA 95124 http://www.safecomputing.com
>>> > Ergonomic products for Computer Users
>>> >******************************************************
>>> >
>>> >
>>> >
>>> >
>>> Regards,
>>>
>>> Marty Tibor
>>> Synapse
>>> 3095 Kerner Blvd., Suite S
>>> San Rafael, CA 94901
>>> Phone 415-455-9700
>>> Fax 415-455-9801
>>> toll-free 888-285-9988
>>>
>>> martytib@@synapseadaptive.com
>>> http://www.synapseadaptive.com
>>>
>>> Providers of adaptive and assistive technology solutions.
>>
>>
>Regards,
>
>Marty Tibor
>Synapse
>3095 Kerner Blvd., Suite S
>San Rafael, CA 94901
>Phone 415-455-9700
>Fax 415-455-9801
>toll-free 888-285-9988
>
>martytib@@synapseadaptive.com
>http://www.synapseadaptive.com
>
>Providers of adaptive and assistive technology solutions.
>
>
------------------------------------------------------------
----SF/ using speech recognition software/forgive odd typos
![]() |