However, each poster's signature line DOES appear on EACH message,
including links to their websites when included by the poster (including
http://www.sysapseadaptive.com and http://www.safecomputing.com) on EACH
message their owners post.
It is ONLY on the ARCHIVE SITE where old messages are maintained that
the archive's owner places two advertising logos at the bottom of the
html page -- UNDER the reposted signature links of the poster,
(including http://www.sysapseadaptive.com and
http://www.safecomputing.com) on EACH message their owners post.
I have not received ONE spam message from the owner/host of this list.
To get to the owner's website when I'm reading a message from the list,
I have to manually manipulate the domain name. However, I can get to a
poster's website (including http://www.sysapseadaptive.com and
http://www.safecomputing.com) on EACH message its owner posts simply by
clicking on the link each embeds in the signature line. I have NO
problem with that (in fact I appreciate the convenience and have visted
each site more than once), but it's an advantage over the owner, who
does not seem to post messages as frequently as many others.
Each of us is free to start a competing mailing list. It's not hard to
do, it's not that expensive, but it's a pain to maintain and it's
discouraging if you hear mostly criticism. BTW, speaking of criticism,
I wish Enrique would move the list (and his website) to an isp which is
in the specific business of hosting mailing lists (or websites). His
isp is to SLOW for my taste. However, Enrique is the one paying for it,
and maybe he has a better deal than is offered by pair, lsoft or
repruduce, for example, and I'm glad he's doing it and not me.
I do not know Enrique, I have nothing but general appreciation for him,
you, George, and other regular posters, I have not bought anything from
21st Century and they haven't sent me any freebies, I do not begrudge
21st Century's competitors putting links on their message signatures
(but I WOULD be offended by graphics) and, frankly, I think 21st Century
is entitled to put a tag line link on the bottom of each message going
through the server. You guys should have left well enough alone! ;-)
Martin Tibor wrote:
>
> 21st has been active in letting resellers know if they believe that they
> are SPAMING the list. It was understood that the basis of this list was to
> be collaborative. There was considerable concern that the outcome of the
> list being taken over by a vendor was going to a change the way the list
> would be handled. I for one object that my comments are being used to sell
> products for 21st. 21st is hosting this list but is not their list IMHO.
> Using the comments of this list to market their products with these graphic
> links I believe is inappropriate. As a reseller myself I resent their use
> of my comments to market their business. Every posting carries their URL
> and they are deriving considerable benefit from this alone. 21st has been
> extremely aggressive in marketing on the web and I have no problem with
> their marketing efforts. I do have problem with using this list as if it
> was their property because they are hosting it. As I said before I am sure
> we all appreciate the efforts of 21st in hosting this list. They do bring
> you through their site to sign up and all messages contain their URL. I
> don't believe hosting implies ownership nor was that my understanding that
> it was their original contention when they offered to host the list. I
> don't think anyone wants to see graphic advertisements on postings from
> dealers either. I will step off my soapbox now and listen to your responses.
> Regards,
/snip previous messages/
> Marty Tibor
> Synapse
> 3095 Kerner Blvd., Suite S
> San Rafael, CA 94901
> Phone 415-455-9700
> Fax 415-455-9801
> toll-free 888-285-9988
>
> martytib@@synapseadaptive.com
> http://www.synapseadaptive.com
>
> Providers of adaptive and assistive technology solutions.
-- H. Alan Arfken, Jr. MESSAGE INTENDED FOR mailto:aarfken@@pobox.com ADDRESSEE(S) ONLY Post Office Box 6337 Chattanooga, TN 37401-6337 423.267.2100
![]() |