At 08:06 AM 3/12/98 -0500, Alan Arfken wrote:
>Hey, wait a minute here. I just ran an AltaVista search on one of the
>folks complaining here and came up with two archive sites, one of which
>didn't work anymore:
>http://www-uk.hpl.hp.com/people/ange/archives/voice-users-archive/1831.html
>http://hplbwww.hpl.hp.com/people/ange/archives/archives-97/voice-users-arch
ive/2421.html
>
>The third archive site, cited below, is OWNED and PAID FOR by the owner
>of the domain name, voicerecognition.com -- 21st Century. You are
>reading your message, posted through the mailing list they pay for, on
>their website, with a pair of logos at the bottome with links to the
>homepage of that very website. Please correct me if I'm wrong. Now
>exactly what is so unusual, surprising, misleading or unfair about
>THAT?
>
>Whether it's great to have your e-mail address available for harvesting
>by spam mailers is a another question entirely, but Enrique has already
>promised to look into hiding the real addresses. I may be relatively
>new to this list, but let's appreciate the service 21st Century is
>providing by maintaining this list and the archives. Would you prefer
>to pay a subscription fee for using the list? Who's supposed to pay for
>the hassle? I maintain a small list myself. It's a pain. BTW, he
>hasn't complained about HIS competitors advertising themselves on HIS
>LIST with their signature line advertisements. Give the guy a break!
>IMHO FWIW AA
>
>http://voicerecognition.com/voice-users/archive/1998/0373.html
>
>
>--
>H. Alan Arfken, Jr. MESSAGE INTENDED FOR
>mailto:aarfken@@pobox.com ADDRESSEE(S) ONLY
>Post Office Box 6337
>Chattanooga, TN 37401-6337
>423.267.2100Martin Tibor wrote:
>>
>> This is how you are found on the internet. Complete with logo/graphic link
>> to 21st.
>>
>> http://voicerecognition.com/voice-users/archive/1998/0373.html
>>
>> How does it feel to be a west coast sales agent for 21st Century without
>> your knowledge????
>>
>> At 09:36 PM 3/11/98 -0800, George Szymkiewicz wrote:
>> >
>> >
>> >Holland St.John wrote:
>> >
>> >> Hmmm....
>> >>
>> >> I didn't know this, did the AltaVista search, (searched on "Web" for my
>> >> name) and found what you say.... Well close.. I wouldn't call the 21st
>> >> Century ad at the bottom a "large graphic", but it is certainly an
>> >> advertisement attached to all my e-mails to voice-users. I'm not sure
>> >> yet how much I dislike this, but I sure don't appreciate it...
>> >> Especially as I had no idea this was happening.
>> >>
>> >> I haven't written much publicly lately but in a search of Altavista I
>> didn't
>> >> see the ads Marty refers to. Are they really blatant? If so, I would
>> rapidly
>> >> develop an opinion since I'm also a reseller.
>> >
>> >Cheers,George
>> >
>> >> Martin Tibor wrote:
>> >> I was stunned to
>> >> > find my comments as well as everyone else all over the Internet with
>> large
>> >> > linked graphic tagged advertisements to visit the 21st Century
website.
>> >
>> >******************************************************
>> >SAFE COMPUTING Voice:408-269-5430
>> >2059 Camden Avenue, Fax: 408-269-4812
>> >Suite 285 george@@safecomputing.com
>> >San Jose, CA 95124 http://www.safecomputing.com
>> > Ergonomic products for Computer Users
>> >******************************************************
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> Regards,
>>
>> Marty Tibor
>> Synapse
>> 3095 Kerner Blvd., Suite S
>> San Rafael, CA 94901
>> Phone 415-455-9700
>> Fax 415-455-9801
>> toll-free 888-285-9988
>>
>> martytib@@synapseadaptive.com
>> http://www.synapseadaptive.com
>>
>> Providers of adaptive and assistive technology solutions.
>
>
Regards,
Marty Tibor
Synapse
3095 Kerner Blvd., Suite S
San Rafael, CA 94901
Phone 415-455-9700
Fax 415-455-9801
toll-free 888-285-9988
martytib@@synapseadaptive.com
http://www.synapseadaptive.com
Providers of adaptive and assistive technology solutions.
![]() |