The third archive site, cited below, is OWNED and PAID FOR by the owner
of the domain name, voicerecognition.com -- 21st Century. You are
reading your message, posted through the mailing list they pay for, on
their website, with a pair of logos at the bottome with links to the
homepage of that very website. Please correct me if I'm wrong. Now
exactly what is so unusual, surprising, misleading or unfair about
THAT?
Whether it's great to have your e-mail address available for harvesting
by spam mailers is a another question entirely, but Enrique has already
promised to look into hiding the real addresses. I may be relatively
new to this list, but let's appreciate the service 21st Century is
providing by maintaining this list and the archives. Would you prefer
to pay a subscription fee for using the list? Who's supposed to pay for
the hassle? I maintain a small list myself. It's a pain. BTW, he
hasn't complained about HIS competitors advertising themselves on HIS
LIST with their signature line advertisements. Give the guy a break!
IMHO FWIW AA
http://voicerecognition.com/voice-users/archive/1998/0373.html
-- H. Alan Arfken, Jr. MESSAGE INTENDED FOR mailto:aarfken@@pobox.com ADDRESSEE(S) ONLY Post Office Box 6337 Chattanooga, TN 37401-6337 423.267.2100Martin Tibor wrote: > > This is how you are found on the internet. Complete with logo/graphic link > to 21st. > > http://voicerecognition.com/voice-users/archive/1998/0373.html > > How does it feel to be a west coast sales agent for 21st Century without > your knowledge???? > > At 09:36 PM 3/11/98 -0800, George Szymkiewicz wrote: > > > > > >Holland St.John wrote: > > > >> Hmmm.... > >> > >> I didn't know this, did the AltaVista search, (searched on "Web" for my > >> name) and found what you say.... Well close.. I wouldn't call the 21st > >> Century ad at the bottom a "large graphic", but it is certainly an > >> advertisement attached to all my e-mails to voice-users. I'm not sure > >> yet how much I dislike this, but I sure don't appreciate it... > >> Especially as I had no idea this was happening. > >> > >> I haven't written much publicly lately but in a search of Altavista I > didn't > >> see the ads Marty refers to. Are they really blatant? If so, I would > rapidly > >> develop an opinion since I'm also a reseller. > > > >Cheers,George > > > >> Martin Tibor wrote: > >> I was stunned to > >> > find my comments as well as everyone else all over the Internet with > large > >> > linked graphic tagged advertisements to visit the 21st Century website. > > > >****************************************************** > >SAFE COMPUTING Voice:408-269-5430 > >2059 Camden Avenue, Fax: 408-269-4812 > >Suite 285 george@@safecomputing.com > >San Jose, CA 95124 http://www.safecomputing.com > > Ergonomic products for Computer Users > >****************************************************** > > > > > > > > > Regards, > > Marty Tibor > Synapse > 3095 Kerner Blvd., Suite S > San Rafael, CA 94901 > Phone 415-455-9700 > Fax 415-455-9801 > toll-free 888-285-9988 > > martytib@@synapseadaptive.com > http://www.synapseadaptive.com > > Providers of adaptive and assistive technology solutions.
![]() |